iPhone only
No Android app, no web app, and no sync between devices. Your journal lives on your phone.
Everblue · a journal that asks you first
Compare

Everblue is a journal where Cloudy, a small pixel cloud, asks you one question at a time in chat, and your answers become an entry in your own words. Its memory is something you can see, edit, delete, or pause. It’s iPhone only, with no sync, web app, or end-to-end encryption.
Side by side
Only what each company says on its own site or App Store listing. Scroll sideways on a phone.
| App | Platforms | Free tier | Paid price | AI | Approach | Data & privacy |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Everblue | iPhone only. No Android, no web app, no cross-device sync. | 50 messages a day, 20 photos a day, write on today and yesterday. | Pro $6.99/month (yearly option too). 14-day trial, no card. 200 messages a day, unlimited photos, any past day, Pro looks. | Yes. Models reached through OpenRouter. | Cloudy, a pixel cloud, asks one question at a time in chat. Your answers become a first-person entry in your words. Entries you write, photograph, record, or log as a mood are saved as written, with a short thought bubble from Cloudy. | Journal stored on your phone. Messages pass through Everblue’s servers to AI providers and aren’t kept. Nothing is read in the background. No end-to-end encryption claim. |
| Rosebud | iPhone, iPad, Mac (Apple silicon), Vision Pro; Android (Google Play link on rosebud.app). | “Rosebud is free to use.” Free-tier limits not stated. | Rosebud Bloom: $12.99/month or $107.99/year. Higher “Thrive” tiers also listed. | Yes. Privacy policy names OpenAI and Anthropic (plus Google, AWS, Groq) with zero-data-retention agreements. | AI journal that responds as you write, with real-time guidance on text and voice entries, guided journals (CBT, gratitude), and weekly insights. | “Encrypted in transit and at rest.” Face ID / PIN lock. End-to-end encryption not stated. |
| Day One | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Android, web. | Basic: unlimited entries and journals, 1 photo per entry, 1 device (plus web). | Silver $49.99/year. Gold $74.99/year (adds AI features). | Yes, on Gold (Daily Chat, summaries, prompts). Third-party provider “currently OpenAI”, Automattic-hosted models, and on-device Apple Intelligence for some features. | A full-featured journal you write yourself, with daily prompts, templates, rich media, and optional AI tools. | End-to-end encryption listed on every plan. Cloud backup; sync across unlimited devices on Silver and Gold. |
| Stoic | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch, Vision Pro, web. | “Stoic is free.” Free-tier limits not stated. | Premium and Premium + AI. App Store lists premium at $6.99–$39.99 and AI at $12.99–$99.99; plan lengths not stated. | Yes, on Premium + AI. Help center: “powered by the advanced tools of OpenAI.” | Structured morning preparation and evening reflection, with a planner, habit and mood tracking, guided journals, and breathing and sleep tools. | “Securely stored on your devices, and safely backed up.” iCloud sync. Passcode / Face ID lock. End-to-end encryption not stated. |
| Reflectly | iPhone, iPad, Android. | Free download. Free-tier limits not stated. | Reflectly Premium. App Store lists $4.99–$59.99; plan lengths not stated, prices “vary by region”. | Yes (AI-guided prompts and insights). Provider not stated. | Guided prompts and mood tracking drawing on positive psychology, mindfulness, and CBT, with daily quotes and evening insights. | Encryption not stated. Account data linked to you per the App Store privacy label. |
| Mindsera | iPhone, Apple Watch, Android, web. | Curious (free): journaling, habit tracking, AI prompting, 52+ framework templates. | Genius: $14.99/month or $129/year. | Yes. Provider not stated. Says your data “is not used to train or improve AI models.” | AI journal built around thinking frameworks and templates, with AI comments on entries (“Minds”), analysis, and a chat mode. | “Fully encrypted at rest and in transit.” End-to-end encryption not stated. |
| Finch | iPhone, iPad, Vision Pro, Android. | Core self-care features free; Finch Plus is optional. | Finch Plus: $9.99/month or $69.99/year (help center). | Not stated. | A virtual pet that grows as you complete self-care: goals, mood check-ins, guided journaling prompts, breathing and sleep exercises. | Encryption not stated. |
| Daylio | iPhone, iPad, Android. | Free download with mood and activity logging. Free-tier limits not stated. | Daylio Premium. App Store lists $4.99–$59.99; plan lengths not stated. | Not stated. | A micro-diary: tap a mood and activities, add an optional note or photo, and see stats and a Year in Pixels. | “Your data is stored locally on your phone.” Optional backups to iCloud or Google Drive. End-to-end encryption not stated. |
| Journey | iPhone, iPad, Mac, Android, web. | Free version you can use indefinitely. | Membership $6.99/month or $49.99/year (App Store). One-time Premium License and Lifetime also offered. | Yes. Odyssey AI “powered by GPT” (company not named); some features on-device. | A diary you write yourself, with rich text and media, coach programs, templates, and an AI that answers questions about your past entries. | End-to-end encryption, “only available in Journey Cloud Sync.” Sync across devices. |
Prices are US App Store or website prices. App Store listings don’t say how long each in-app purchase lasts, so where that’s all we found, we show the range.
One at a time
A closer look at each, including when the other app is the better pick.
AI journal that responds as you write, with real-time guidance on text and voice entries, guided journals (CBT, gratitude), and weekly insights.
A full-featured journal you write yourself, with daily prompts, templates, rich media, and optional AI tools.
Structured morning preparation and evening reflection, with a planner, habit and mood tracking, guided journals, and breathing and sleep tools.
Guided prompts and mood tracking drawing on positive psychology, mindfulness, and CBT, with daily quotes and evening insights.
AI journal built around thinking frameworks and templates, with AI comments on entries (“Minds”), analysis, and a chat mode.
A virtual pet that grows as you complete self-care: goals, mood check-ins, guided journaling prompts, breathing and sleep exercises.
Plainly
No Android app, no web app, and no sync between devices. Your journal lives on your phone.
What you share with Cloudy goes to AI providers through OpenRouter. Everblue’s servers pass it along and don’t keep it. If you need end-to-end encryption, Day One and Journey list it.
Everblue is a self-reflection and journaling tool. It isn’t therapy or medical care.
Sources
Competitor details come from each app’s own website, help center, and App Store listing, checked on October 14, 2026. Prices are US prices and can change or vary by region. Where we couldn’t find something, we wrote “not stated”. Last verified October 2026.

On iPhone, free to start, with 14 days of Pro and no card at signup.
Download on the App Store